Making Doll Wigs

Here are a couple of my J-Dolls covered and protected for wig making. I go with the full body look:

GE
GE

There are many tutorials out there for glue method wigs and so I am not going to cover it here at this time. But to share my journey a bit, I prefer wefting. I start with drawing straight lines on a piece of typing paper about an inch or so apart with a ruler and a pencil. Then I sew on my machine to attach the hair across the lines. I am using some of my own handyed and combed mohair in the pictures.

GE
GE

Next I trim down the fuzzy tops. You do not want to cut too close as it will not go well. It is a little close in some spots, but should be okay if I am very careful. Once the trimming is finished, I fold the hair over the stitches and sew it across twice over.

GE
GE

Once this is done, it is just a matter of very carefully tearing the paper away. You will need to pick little bits of paper free, but it is not hard to do.

GE
GE

Then you are ready to create your wig with your newly wefted hair. This was my last project (also, mohair) and available in my Etsy shop (www.stephanieasmith.etsy.com). It is made to fit J-doll.

GE
GE
Leave a Reply

