New Scissors and New Sewing for BJD

I have very much missed sewing. I have not done much of it recently as the scissors that I had could not cut air much less fabric. Finally, I ordered a new pair of scissors. Not the cheap dollar ones that don’t cut when new, but a pair of real scissors. Gingher brand scissors. They have arrived and they work like a dream! They even cut thick leather! I may be left handed, but I always use right handed scissors. I am funny that way!

GE
GE

Now, my projects tend not to be so ambitious as thick leather, but I have started on an outfit that will fit my J-Doll girl:

GE
GE

I have started on the sleeveless jacket for the new outfit. I prefer to sew my little doll clothes all by hand with tiny stitches and I blanket stitch all of the edges to prevent raveling. I do want them to last!

GE
GE

I plan on offering many BJD and Blythe outfits in my Etsy shop (www.stephanieasmith.etsy.com) in the near future. It is a great change of pace from the doll hair that I do so love to make. I enjoy looking at my work table and seeing this:

GE
GE

and knowing that soon any number of beads or trims, fur or feathers might be added to the creative adventure.

Leave a Reply

