Wild Week

Normally, I do not go so long without blogging, but the past few days have been insane. Thursday started out alright…a regular busy day with a visit to school in the evening to see my daughter in a play called ‘Go Fish Concert: Dive Into Learning’. Lovely singing…good story, she was marvelous and I took lots of pictures in poor lighting. Here is one of the betters to share:

Emma is the one in pink with the streamers and short hair

Then home and off to bed for school on Friday morning. Friday morning and afternoon were busy as usual and then my Honey took the kids over to his Moms for a weekend visit. While he was out delivering our children, I was cleaning out the back room and heard a really loud and awful banging noise. At this point it was dark out even though it was but seven in the evening. Hesitantly, I went to inspect the source of the racket. I was sure that the dog was chasing the cat again and they perhaps knocked over something as they played and, yet, I felt nervous checking out the sound myself and home alone. I quietly crept to my daughters’ bedroom where I had heard the noise. I knew then that it couldn’t have been our pets as the door to her room was still shut. I opened it cautiously while standing off to the side…nothing happened…I waited…still nothing, so I reached in and flipped on the light switch and saw nothing. Feeling silly I returned to the back room to complete the organizational process that I was hip deep in (art supplies..go figure) when my husband arrived home and asked me what had happened.  Puzzled, I told him of the loud noise and he told me of the window that had been broke in my daughters room, which faces the front of the house. In astonishment, I went to see for my self and for all the world it looked like a drive by shooting! We called the cops and it turned out to be a random slingshotter, as the found a rock that had been thrown through the window with enough velocity to have the first ‘shot’ dent the metal siding of this old house and the second rock to penetrate glass of both the regular windows and the storm window as it sent glass flying across the room as the rock flew to the far wall to make an awful gash in the drywall.

Well, after that bit of misadventure, we thought that it would be best to have our daughter move into what was our bedroom(how did she get so many dang Barbies, anyway?), our bedroom to what was once the living room and our living room to what was once my daughters bedroom. We rotated most of our house, but now both of the kids bedrooms are at the back of the house safely tucked away. Geesh, I feel like I moved again.

Of course, I still have been playing with fiber between times. But, I’ll save that for tomorrows post.

Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

