Georgian Mohair

Yesterday, I had the honor of visiting with one of my favorite local herds. Forty five minutes from my home is Hartwell, Ga. The home of  Frank and Joyce Woodrum and their marvelous, pure bred angora goats bred for their soft, lusterious curly locks.

Here are a few pictures of Hartwell Lake and the dam that is on the way to their house:

Lake Hartwell
Lake Hartwell
Going by Hartwell Dam
Going by Hartwell Dam

I made a few new friends when I got there:

A New Friend
A New Friend
A Very Friendly Friend
A Very Friendly Friend

Then, we went out to view her beautiful herd in her scenic pasture (just look at that grass!!!):

Mohair On The Hoof
Mohair On The Hoof
Come A Runnin'
Come A Runnin'

Now, of course, these lovely does and wethers are, as spoiled as grandkids, and even have their own clubhouse:

Where the Goats Like to Play
Where the Goats Like to Play

After inspecting the herd, (I have GOT to get me a couple of those does! And, there is one young wether there…), we went to where their lovely fresh shorn fleeces lay stored carefully in the barn. And, there is where not a moment passed that I wasn’t in sheer delight of sensation as I got to pet each and every one of those majestic coats. Now, of course, I could not leave with out some and much more than I should, but through the wonders of my funds, a bartered spindle and Joyces’ generosity, I have not just a fleece or two. I got one incredible wethers fleece and a fleece from a darling little doe the color of silver turned autumn leaves, a nice little kids fleece with the finest of fur..a..ah, shucks, roll the pictures……….

The Haul!!!
The Haul!!!

Sorry about the lighting on the last one, but it was getting on towards evening (horrid for pictures). Here is a close up, though:

So Soft!!
So Soft!!
One thought on “Georgian Mohair

Leave a Reply

